skip to main content
Close Icon We use cookies to improve your website experience.  To learn about our use of cookies and how you can manage your cookie settings, please see our Cookie Policy.  By continuing to use the website, you consent to our use of cookies.
Global Search Configuration

2017 Winners

Many congratulations to the 2017 winners of the Clinical & Research Excellence Awards.

Best Patient Centric Clinical Trial
Winner: Janssen Research & Development, A Study to Evaluate the Safety and Clinical Response of Subretinal Administration of CNTO 2476 (Palucorcel) in Participants with Geographic Atrophy (PRELUDE)

Clinical Trial Result of the Year – Sponsored by Medidata Solutions
Winner: Kite Pharma, ZUMA-1 Pivotal CAR-T Therapy Trial of Axicabtagene Ciloleucel in Patients with Aggressive Non-Hodgkin Lymphoma (NHL)

Most Innovative Clinical Trial Design         
Winner: Tracon Pharmaceuticals (in collaboration with Cytel), A Randomized Phase 3 Trial of TRC105 and Pazopanib Versus Pazopanib alone in Patients with Advanced Angiosarcoma (TAPPAS)

Excellence in Rare Disease Drug Development    
Winner: Tocagen, Toca 511 + Toca FC for recurrent high grade glioma 

Best Sponsor-Focused Technological Development          
Winner: IBM Watson Health & Novartis & Highlands Oncology, Watson Clinical Trial Matching Team

Best Patient-Focused Technological Development           
Winner: NorthWest EHealth, Linked Database System

Most Successful Early Phase Trial (Preclinical & Phase I)

Winner: Tocagen, Study of a Retroviral Replicating Vector to Treat Patients Undergoing Surgery for a Recurrent Malignant Brain Tumor

Pharma/Biotech Product Development Team of the Year – Sponsored by Cytel
Winner: TESARO, Niraparib Product Development Team

Clinical Partnership of the Year – Sponsored by EBD Group
Winner: Medidata Solutions & TESARO
Highly Commended: Novartis; Kenya Medical Research Institute Center for Clinical Research/Strathmore University; Kintampo Health Research Center; Ifakara Health Institute; Division of Clinical Pharmacology at the University of Cape Town; Addis Ababa University/ Regional Bioequivalence Center; African Institute of Biomedical Science and Technology Clinical Pharmacology Capability Building in Sub-Saharan Africa

Marquee Award for R&D Excellence
Winner: Novartis

Lifetime Achievement Award
Winner: Dr. Michael Murphy, M.D., Ph.D. Chief Medical & Scientific Officer, Worldwide Clinical Trials

Winners were announced on the 5 April at a ceremony at the State Room in Boston.

Congratulations to all the winners and all of our finalists for 2017.

Trophies are designed and manufactured by Gaudio.