skip to main content
Close Icon We use cookies to improve your website experience.  To learn about our use of cookies and how you can manage your cookie settings, please see our Cookie Policy.  By continuing to use the website, you consent to our use of cookies.
Global Search Configuration

We are delighted to announce the shortlist for the Digital 16th Annual Scrip Awards.

Click here to view a short summary of all the finalist in these 2 categories:

  • Best New Drug Award
  • Clinical Advance of the Year

Click here to view a short summary of all the finalist in these 2 categories:

  • Best Partnership Alliance
  • Innovation Awards

Click here to view a short summary of all the finalist in these 2 categories:

  • Community Partnership of the Year Award, sponsored by Medidata Dassault
  • Best Contract Research Organization – Full-Service Providers, sponsored by Bioclinica

Over the summer, our panel of 14 respected judges has reviewed all the entries to produce a shortlist that displays the wealth of innovation, dedication and hard work that the pharmaceutical and biotech industries have shown over the past year.

The full range of industry activities from big pharma, biotech companies and CROs is represented: from novel deals, to new drug launches and innovation in R&D. This year we have a new award to reflect the rapid maturing of China’s biopharma sector, the China BioPharma Leadership Award. 

The Scrip Awards provides the industry with an opportunity to acknowledge its highest achievers across all parts of the value chain and to recognize both corporate and individual achievement.

As in previous years, we will be announcing the winner of the Pharma Company of the Year Award on the night, just as we do for the Lifetime Achievement Award. And as 2020 has been year unlike any other for the industry, we will also be recognizing its unparalleled contribution to the coronavirus pandemic with Scrip’s Special Award for COVID-19 Response. 

We are thrilled that so many of you have taken the time to enter and sorry that not everyone can make the shortlist.
This year's winners will be announced at the online Awards presentation on 2 December.

Congratulations to all our finalists and good luck on the night!

Best New Drug Award
Alnylam Pharmaceuticals’ Givlaari (givosiran)
Biohaven Pharmaceticals’ Nurtec ODT (rimegepant)
Horizon Therapeutics’ Tepezza (teprotumumab)
Merck/EMD Serono’s Tepmetko (tepotinib)
MSD’s Ervebo (Ebola Zaire Vaccine (rVSVΔG-ZEBOV-GP) live)
Vertex Pharmaceuticals’ Trikafta (elexacaftor/tezacaftor/ivacaftor and ivacaftor)

Best Contract Research Organization - Full Service Providers, sponsored by Bioclinica
Syneos Health
Worldwide Clinical Trials

Best Contract Research Organization - Specialist Providers
Illingworth Research Group 
Medical Research Network
MMS Holdings

Business Development Team of the Year
Almirall’s External Innovation and Licensing Team
BeiGene’s Business Development Team
Evox Therapeutics' Business Development Team
Roche and Spark Therapeutics’ Acquisition Liaison Team
Takeda’s Center for External Innovation
Zambon's Business Development Team 

Clinical Advance of the Year, Sponsored by Parexel
AstraZeneca’s Phase III DAPA-HF trial of Farxiga (dapagliflozin) for heart failure 
Aurinia Pharmaceuticals’ Phase III trial of voclosporin for lupus nephritis
Biohaven Pharmaceuticals’ Phase III NCTO3237845 trial of Nurtec ODT (rimegepant) for migraine
Merck KGaA (EMD Serono)’s Phase II VISION trial of tepotinib in NSCLC with METex14 skipping alterations
Regeneron’s Phase III PALM trial of REGN-EB3 for Ebola
Verona Pharma’s Phase II trial of ensifentrine in COPD

Financing Deal of the Year
Achilles Therapeutics’ $100m series B financing
Alnylam Pharmaceuticals’ $2bn private financing from Blackstone
BioNTech's $225m series B financing round and $150m IPO on NASDAQ
BridgeBio Pharma’s $550m financing
iTeos Therapeutics’ $125m series B2 financing
NodThera’s $55m series B financing

WuXi AppTec’s Biotech Company of the Year Award
BridgeBio Pharma
Calliditas Therapeutics
Hutchison China MediTech
Ionis Pharmaceuticals
Vir Biotechnology

Licensing Deal of the Year
BeiGene and Amgen for the commercial rights to Xgeva (denosumab), Kyprolis (carfilzomib) and Blincyto (blinatumomab) in China
Immunic and Daiichi Sankyo for IMU-856 for diseases of intestinal barrier function 
Oxford Biomedica with Juno Therapeutics (Bristol-Myers Squibb) for the LentiVector platform in CAR-T and TCR-T oncology programs
Roche and Dicerna for the siRNA RG6346 for chronic hepatitis B
Sarepta Therapeutics and Roche for the SRP-9001 micro-dystrophin gene therapy for Duchenne muscular dystrophy
Takeda and COUR Pharmaceuticals for TAK-101 for celiac disease 

Executive of the Year - Companies with market cap >$10bn
Kenneth Frazier, Chief Executive Officer, Merck & Co
Paul Stoffels, Chief Scientific Officer, Johnson & Johnson
Rajeev Venkayya, President of the Global Vaccine Business Unit of Takeda
Husseini Manji, Global Therapeutic Head of Neuroscience at the Janssen Research & Development
David K. Lee, Chief Executive Officer, Servier Pharmaceuticals
John Maraganore, Chief Executive Officer, Alnylam Pharmaceuticals

Executive of the Year - Companies with market cap <$10bn
Renee Aguiar-Lucander, Chief Executive Officer, Calliditas Therapeutics
John Dawson, Chief Executive Officer, Oxford Biomedica
Neil Kumar, Chief Executive Officer, BridgeBio
Steve Paul, Chief Executive Officer, President and Chairman, Karuna Therapeutics
Onno van de Stolpe, Chief Executive Officer, Galapagos
Umang Vohra, Managing Director and Global Chief Executive Officer, Cipla

Best Partnership Alliance 
Amgen, AstraZeneca, GSK and Janssen for the UK Biobank Whole Genome Sequencing Project 
AstraZeneca and Silence Therapeutics for siRNA treatments for CV, renal, metabolic and respiratory diseases 
Bayer and Arvinas for proteolysis-targeting chimera (PROTAC) candidates 
Gilead and Galapagos for a wide-ranging 10-year R&D pact
IFM Therapeutics and Novartis for drugs targeting the cGAS/STING pathway
Roche and Arrakis Therapeutics for an RNA-targeted drugs collaboration

Community Partnership of the Year Award, sponsored by Medidata
Abbott’s point of care testing service for the London Ambulance Service 
AstraZeneca, GSK and the University of Cambridge collaboration to set up the Cambridge COVID-19 Test Centre 
CMIC OrphanPacific and the Advocacy Service for Rare and Intractable Diseases’ Rare Disease Day in Japan 
Ionis’ Hope Scholarship program for ALS patients in the greater San Diego, California area
Takeda’s The Global Challenge: A 100-Day Challenge Towards Healthier Lifestyles For Patients With Bleeding Disorders
WuXi AppTec’s Collaborations That Transform webinar series on rare diseases with the Children’s Tumor Foundation 

Innovation Award
Achilles Therapeutics’ clonal neoantigen T-cells (cNeT) for cancer
Almac’s claraT Gene Expression Report 
Arvinas’ Proteolysis Targeting Chimeras (PROTAC) protein degradation technology
BenevolentAI’s artificial intelligence for the discovery of more effective medicines 
Boundless Bio’s extrachromosomal DNA (ecDNA)-targeting technology for cancer 
Ionis Pharmaceuticals’ RNA-targeted therapeutics for Huntingdon’s disease 

China Biopharma Leadership Award 
AstraZeneca China
Hutchison China MediTech
Legend Biotech

Pharma Company of the Year Award and Lifetime Achievement Award, sponsored by ICON will be announced on the night.


Scrip Awards 2020

For Sponsorship enquiries:

Christopher Keeling
Tel: +44 (0) 20 337 73183
Mobile: +44 (0) 7917 647 859

For all other enquiries:

Natalie Cornwell
Tel: +44 (0) 7827 993 776